Return to Headlines

Kirkwood High School Journalism Students Earn National Award Recognition

The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) has recognized three members of last year’s staff of The Kirkwood Call for their work and have named them finalists in the 2023 National Scholastic Press Association Individual Awards.


The 2023 NSPA Individual Award Finalists from Kirkwood High School are:

Morgan Hooker, 2023 graduate, Portfolio of the Year, Design

Khadijia Khan, senior and current Editor-in-Chief of TKC, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, “A Walk in Her Shoes”

Caroline Steidley, 2023 graduate, Story of the Year, “Former KHS student set to be executed”


Individual Award winners will be announced at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention, in Boston, at the 3:30 p.m. awards ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 4. A gallery of winners will be posted after the Nov. 4 announcement.


For more information and a complete list of winners: