Return to Headlines

Janet Mees Reinert 2024 Missouri Teacher of the Year Semi-finalists Announced

Today, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) announced 17 Regional Teachers of the Year who have been selected as semi-finalists for the 2024 Missouri Teacher of the Year award. The exciting news: KHS Library Media Specialist Janet Mees Reinert is among the semi-finalists!


See the full news release from DESE below. Headshot attached.



Janet was selected through an interview process conducted by the Kirkwood School District Teacher of the Year selection committee. Some sentiments shared and things learned about Janet during her interview process include:


"Janet tirelessly puts students and staff at the forefront of resource acquisition, management and implementation. KHS library serves the needs of the entire school and academic community with grace and strength under her leadership."


"Janet endeavors to make sure that every student at KHS is represented in our Library. In the library she has created a welcoming space that is full of students every hour - and before/after school. She connects with teachers and supports their work across all content areas, making sure students can connect to resources in the library that extend their learning in the classroom."


Janet believes the most essential part of teaching is to grow good human beings. She leads the KHS Peer Tutoring Program as well as sponsors National Honor Society.


Congratulations again to Janet and all the outstanding Teachers of the Year who represent the many Kirkwood teachers and staff throughout the District.


The Department has issued the following news release:


2024 Missouri Teacher of the Year Semi-finalists Announced


The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) has announced the 17 Regional Teachers of the Year who have been selected as semi-finalists for the 2024 Missouri Teacher of the Year award. The Teacher of the Year program spotlights the positive impact excellent teachers have on their students.


The list of semi-finalists includes teachers from multiple grade levels, subject areas, and nearly every region of the state:


·        Carrie Hill, North Andrew Co. R-VI — Second Grade, North Andrew Elementary

·        David Choate, Rockwood R-VI — English Language Arts, Lafayette High School

·        Dustin Orton, Holden R-III — Ancient World History, Holden Middle School

·        Greg Kester, Potosi R-III — Social Studies, Potosi High School

·        Heather Helle, Scott City R-1 — Music, Scott City Elementary and Middle School

·        Janet Mees Reinert, Kirkwood R-VII — Library Media, Kirkwood High School

·        Jeffrey Collier, StCharles R-VI — Band, Hardin Middle School

·        Kathryn Victoria Inman, Greenville R-II — English Language Arts, Greenville Elementary School

·        Kaylin Bade, Washington School District — Agricultural Sciences, Washington Middle School

·        Maria F. Derner, Belton 124 — English Language Development, Belton High School

·        Matthew Willis, Blue Springs R-IV — Band, Brittany Hill Middle School

·        Melissa Leibbrandt, Special School District — Special Education, Claymont Elementary

·        Michelle Thompson, Ash Grove R-IV — First Grade, Ash Grove Elementary

·        Olivia Howard, Francis Howell R-III — Choir, Francis Howell Middle School

·        Sabria Mustafa El-Kurbu, Moberly School District — High School English, Moberly High School

·        Sarah Mancusi, Nixa Public Schools — Second Grade, Mathews Elementary

·        Zachery Ruble, Pleasant Hope R-VI — History, Pleasant Hope Ranch School

The Teacher of the Year selection process began with the announcement of 34 Regional Teachers of the Year who represented each of the state’s nine Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) areas. Next, DESE will announce the finalists for the 2024 Missouri Teacher of the Year award on Thursday, August 31.


Christina Andrade Melly, an English Language Arts teacher from Ritenour School District’s Ritenour High School, is the 2023 Missouri Teacher of the Year.