Return to Headlines

Kirkwood Board of Education Recognizes Teachers of the Year for 2022-23

On May 9, the Kirkwood Board of Education acknowledged the Kirkwood School District (KSD) Teachers of the Year for 2022-23. Each Kirkwood school selected a School Teacher of the Year from nomination forms submitted by faculty and staff in their individual schools. The KSD schools announced their teacher of the year in February. In March, Katie Meyers was announced as the Kirkwood School District Teacher of the Year for 2022-23. Katie was selected through an interview process conducted by the Teacher of the Year selection committee.

The 2022-23 Kirkwood School Teachers of the Year are:

KECC-Susan Tiffany, Panda Room Teacher

Keysor-Katie Lorenz, Kindergarten

North Glendale-Julie Pritchard, Kindergarten

Robinson-Dr. Laura Grayson, 3rd Grade

Tillman-Elizabeth Curtis, Library Media Specialist

Westchester-Dr. Adrienne Fox-Ray, 4th Grade

Nipher-Scott Warren, 6th Grade and SOAR

North Kirkwood Middle-Kristin Siebert, Health and Wellness

KHS and KSD Teacher of the Year -Katie Meyers, Language Arts


After each teacher was recognized, KSD superintendent Dr. David Ulrich along with the board members shared their congratulations and appreciation to the teachers of the year.

“On behalf of the board of education and the KSD leadership team, congratulations,” said Ulrich. “This truly is something special. I appreciate you, and I promise I know what’s been asked of you this year and in particular, these past few years.”

“We are thankful for each and every one of you,” said KSD board president Jean Marie Andrews. “Your peers saw something in you and chose you to represent their school. The words your peers said about you show what kind of teachers you are. It makes me so proud and grateful to have such great teachers in our schools.”

The 2022-23 Kirkwood School Teachers of the Year will be formally introduced to District staff at the opening day workshop in August 2022.


According to the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE), the major purpose of the Teacher of the Year program is to recognize the contributions of the classroom teacher. Teacher quality and effectiveness is the most important school-based factor that impacts student learning. No one person has a greater impact on the education of a child than does the teacher who creates the learning environment where children flourish and grow. The mission of the Missouri Teacher of the Year Program is to honor, promote and celebrate excellence in the teaching profession.

Pictured left to right front row: Julie Pritchard (North Glendale), Katie Meyers (Kirkwood High School and KSD Teacher of the Year), Kristin Siebert (North Kirkwood Middle School), Susan Tiffany (Kirkwood Early Childhood Center).

Pictured left to right back row: Dr. Adrienne Fox-Ray (Westchester), Elizabeth Curtis (Tillman), Dr. Laura Grayson (Robinson), Scott Warren (Nipher Middle School), and Katie Lorenz (Keysor).