Return to Headlines

Kirkwood School District Inducts Honorees into Outstanding Alumni Hall of Fame and Pioneer Award

The Kirkwood School District (KSD) celebrated the outstanding achievements of Kirkwood High School (KHS) graduates and KHS supporters October 18 and 19 during a full weekend of events to celebrate the Outstanding Hall Alumni Hall of Fame and Pioneer Award.

On Friday, October 18, inductees were invited to KHS to connect with current students. The inductees shared their stories and professional journeys with students in classes from the field with which is appropriate to their field of study. Inductees that attended included Sterling Coleman, Dr. Reates Curry, Dr. Tricia Ashton Derges, Jane E. Drichta, Bill Freivogel, Margaret Freivogel, Jennifer Ouellette, Dr. Timothy Taft, Adam York, Rick Stream and Wallace Ward.

On Saturday, the group convened in the Walker Commons for a pre-event reception before entering the Keating Theatre for the Outstanding Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

Kathy Harris (KHS ’74) emceed the ceremony. Each inductee was introduced, had the opportunity for an acceptance speech, and was then presented with a “Crystal K” award.

Over 250 people were in attendance as 14 outstanding alumni, and seven pioneer award recipients were inducted.

The purpose of the Alumni Hall of Fame is to honor alumni who have achieved success in some recognized field of endeavor and who would serve as appropriate role models for future Kirkwood High students.

The purpose of the Pioneer Award is to honor individuals who may not have graduated from KHS but who have made significant contributions to the Kirkwood School District.

2019 Kirkwood High School Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees


Sterling Coleman, 1988; Dr. Reates Curry, 1980; Dr. Tricia Ashton Derges, MD, 1975; Colin Donnell, 2001; Jane E. Drichta, 1987; Bill Freivogel, 1967; Margaret Freivogel, 1967; Blaine Hammond, 1969; *Dr. Nancy Edmunds Kline Cogan, 1977; Jennifer Ouellette, 1989; Mark Sparks, 1978; Dr. Timothy Taft, 1960; Lyle W. Waggoner, 1953; and Adam J. York, 1993


*Ernie Baker, 1949; Barb Byerly; *Robert O. Piening; Judy Roberts, 1953; Rick Stream, 1967; *Michael E. Swoboda; and Wallace Ward, 1971.

Honorees with an asterisk (*) by their names honored posthumously.

This is the second class of inductees into the KHS Oustanding Alumni Hall of Fame. The inaugural class was selected in 2010. The third class of inductees in tentatively scheduled for 2024. To see a complete list of prior inductees, please visit