Return to Headlines

Kirkwood High School Seniors Named National Merit Finalists

Kirkwood High School seniors Charles Birmingham, Elias Boshara, Kenan Dogan, Jared Goudsmit, Emma Harrell, Nolan Hauck, Meredith Lang, Hannah Mitchell, Casey Nash and Sarah Vreeland were named National Merit Finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship program (NMSC). They were among the 16,000 high school seniors who were designated last September as semifinalists in the 2019 NMSC program. Each received a Certificate of Merit for achieving finalist standing and is now eligible for a Merit Scholarship Award. The selection of some 7,500 Merit Scholarship winners from the group of more than 15,000 Finalists is now in progress. In March, NMSC will begin mailing scholarship offers to winners.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 500 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions.