Return to Headlines

Romona Miller Receives 2020 Excellence in Education Award

In recognition of her dedication to education and leadership in the classroom and the community, Romona Miller has been selected to receive a 2020 Excellence in Education Award at the St. Louis American Foundation's 33rd Annual Salute to Excellence in Education Scholarship & Awards Virtual Gala. Recognition of outstanding educators is a longstanding component of the foundation’s mission, and with mindfulness of the ongoing pandemic crisis, we believe this recognition of the invaluable contributions of our educators is more important than ever.

This virtual event, dedicated to recognizing outstanding achievement in education, will be celebrated on Saturday, October 17 at 7 pm on the St. Louis American’s homepage, Facebook and YouTube channel. There were eight Excellence in Education awardees announced. They are:

LaShanda Boone
Shantana Goodwin-Payne
Karen I. Hall, Ed. D
Romona Miller
Sheryl Denise Rogers
Rhonda Stovall
John E. Thomas
Craig A. Waddell, Ph.D.

For this achievement, each honoree will receive a $500 educator grant. 

The St. Louis American Newspaper will publish profiles on the Excellence in Education awardees in a September issue as well as a major feature story later in the commemorative tabloid in the American published the week of the virtual gala.