Return to Headlines

Board of Education Awards and Honors Ceremony

On Monday, January 8, the Board of Education held an Awards and Honors Ceremony to recognize some of the outstanding accomplishments of students and staff. The Awards and Honors Ceremony will be held three times a year to commend members of the Kirkwood Schools community for their accomplishments. Last night, the Board of Education had the opportunity to honor and congratulate the following individuals and groups: 

  • National Merit Scholarship Commended Students: Amelia Christopher, Truman Kuseski, Allison Luth, Carolyn Spohr, Lillian Strickland, Trey Tweedie, Thomas Williams and Sharon Wirth
  • National Merit Semifinalists: Katherine Crawford, Sydney Ludbrook, Elizabeth Myers, and Mia Risch
  • North Kirkwood Middle School Orchestra for being selected to perform at the 2024 Missouri Music Educators Association
  • Kirkwood High School Symphonic Orchestra for being selected to perform at the 2024 Missouri Music Educators Association
  • Josie Baker , 4th place in the MSHSAA Class 5 Cross Country State Championship
  • Girls Cross Country Team, 4th place MSHSAA Class 5 Cross Country State Championships
  • Levi Rowan, Cross Country Class 5 State runner-up
  • Members of the boys swim and dive team including: Max Marcus, Class 2 Individual Champion in 200 and 500 free; Owen Swearngin, 5th place in 1 Meter dive; Steve Potter, 7th place in the 500 Freestyle; Josh Denckhoff, 7th place for 100 meter backstroke; Stuart Ashley, Jackson Hardage, Pavel Hardey and Max Marcus,  4th place in the 200 Free Relay; Josh Denckhoff, Pavel Hardey, Nathan Bauer, Simon Araneta, 7th place in the 200 Individual Medley;  Max Marcus, Stuart Ashley, Josh Denckhoff and William Chen, 5th place in the 400 Free Relay.
  • Hadley Allaria, 8th place in State Girls Tennis, Class 3 Individual Championships
  • Members of the Kirkwood Call for awards at the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA)/Journalism Education Administration (JEA) National High School Convention including: Mason Heller and Khadija Khan representing the 2022-2023 Call Staff for a Pacemaker Award for Newspaper/Newsmagazine; Mason Heller, Khadija Khan, Tess Hubbard, Ian Reno, Jane Roy and Ava Tebo for receiving Best of Show Awards of 8th place in the Newsmagazine competition (issue 2 in 2023-24) and 3rd place in the Specialty Magazine competition (issue 3, “The Issues Issue” in 2023-24); Khadija Khan, who received an Honorable Mention in the Diversity, Equity & Inclusion category for her story called “A Walk in Her Shoes” and an Honorable Mention Award for Feature Writing in the National Student Media Contest.; Grayci Branam, Excellent Award  in the National Student Media Contest for Review Writing.