Keysor Elementary School first opened its doors 86 years ago in September of 1930. Originally serving eighty students in grades one through four, we now serve approximately 520 children in grades K-5. Built on land purchased by the district for $9,000, our school was named for William Winchester Keysor, a retired judge, professor, and School Board president. Mrs. Keysor was a pioneer in adult education and author of children's books. William Ittner designed both Keysor and our “sister” school, Robinson Elementary.
A wing on the south end of the building was built in 1938 with funds from a bond issue and a Public Works Administration grant. A matching wing on the north end of the building was added in 1949, followed by a gymnasium and eight classrooms in 1954. The driveway in front of the school was built in 1973 and doubled in 1975 to accommodate school bus traffic. A 1987 addition added a science room and library on the south end of the building. The KSD community passed Proposition 1 in 2010, in support of the district’s master facilities plan. Improvements to Keysor included the construction of a new addition to house classrooms and a gymnasium, the renovation of roughly 15,000 sq. ft of existing building, and site safety/traffic improvements.
On May 28, 2013, Keysor officially dedicated our Project IDEA “landscape for learning” a new outdoor learning and play space covering roughly 1.5 acres of our campus. Project IDEA, which stands for Imagination, Discovery, Explore, and Adventure, is an inclusive space with various play structures plus a walking path, garden lab, stage area, and other features that supportive creative learning and a respect for the environment. Designed with student and community members in mind, the project was funded with support of the Keysor PTO, private donations, and community foundations/grants.