• KSDF 2018 Scholarship Recipients On May 1, the Kirkwood School District Foundation (KSDF) held the annual Named Awards Scholarship recipient ceremony.

    The Named Awards Scholarship program was created in memory or honor of students, family, and friends of the community. The scholarships are made possible from KSDF because of the generous support of our donors, especially our donor families, Kirkwood parents, staff, and alumni.

    Recipients completed an online application. Once the application process closed, the KSDF Named Awards Committee reviewed all applications to determine which students to interview. In March 2018, the committee conducted interviews and selected the scholarship recipients.

    The 2018 KSDF Named Award Recipients are pictured left to right front row:
    Abby Gunn, Joan Dowell Memorial Scholarship; Maya Pritchard, Dolly Jander Grant; Adeline Godsy, Evan Dalgaard Memorial Scholarship for Young Leaders; Christina Maury, Evan Dalgaard Memorial Scholarship for Young Leaders; Erin Bugee, Katie Stream Memorial Scholarship; Caroline Davis, Russell and Ruth Kraus Memorial Art Scholarship.

    2nd row: Sarah Morgan, Woodard Family Fine Arts Grant; Chloe Hooker, Russell and Ruth Kraus Memorial Art Scholarship; Najma Omar, Barbara Holley Memorial Scholarship; Camille Baker, Herb Jones Memorial Scholarship; Vanessa Gonzalez, Beth Brown Memorial Scholarship.

    3rd row: Anna Sutterer, The Salivar Family Grant; Sophie Scott, David Koeneker Memorial Award; Hailey Chellis, Glunt Family Award; Dana Quello, Joan Dowell Memorial Scholarship.

    4th row: Caroline Bartels, Denver Miller Memorial Scholarship; Clarke Shead, David Koeneker Memorial Award; Mathew Coble, Glunt Family Award; Merrick Schnider, Russell, and Ruth Kraus Memorial Music Scholarship.

    Not pictured: Elizabeth Landry, Campbell Family Scholarship (College); Alex McElwee, Campbell Family Scholarship (Vocation); Justin Battle, Franklin, and Tresa McCallie Award; Tyriek Lewis, Mike Bales Memorial Scholarship; Amelia Curtis, Myrtle Agnew Walker Endowment for the Visual Arts. Julie Johnson and Amanda Roberts, Woodard Family Fine Arts Teacher Grant.

    “Congratulations to each of the 2018 KSDF Named Award recipients,” said KSDF Named Award Chairman Dr. Derek Byers. “We are proud of you and all of your accomplishments. You all will represent Kirkwood well in the world, and hopefully, some of you will come back to continue making this community even better. We especially thank all the generous donor families - those present tonight and not - who have made these awards possible.  We are truly fortunate to be in a community where gifts like these truly make a difference to our students while also honoring the legacies of some very memorable Pioneers.”

    KSDF was established in 1989. It is a public, not-for-profit organization with a mission of providing funding for educational programs and major projects that enhance our children's education that cannot be met with conventional funding sources.